My Account ( - ) Cart ($) Log Out My Account Cart ($)

About the Speaker Series


2021-2022 Speaker Series new memberships available now

Speaker Series members - LOG IN to begin your renewal order

Guide for Online Membership Renewal

A seven-speaker season lineup marks the planned return of in-person events for the 2021-22 Economic Club of Southwestern Michigan Speaker Series hosted by The Mendel Center at Lake Michigan College.         

The speakers are:

Member Benefits

Additional benefits

2021-2022 Speaker Series Season Pricing

Seating Section 5+ Speakers 3+ Speakers 1 or 2 speakers - Available June 23
In Person Zone A Mainstage $50 $60 $80
In Person Zone B Mainstage $30 $40 $60
In Person Zone C Mainstage $20 $30 $50
Live Stream at The Mendel Center Grand Upton Hall $10 $20 $25
Live Stream at Home Pay-what-you-can $10+ Pay-what-you-can $10+ Pay-what-you-can $10+
Dinner - Add this to your on-site seating experience of your choice $25 $25 $35


Flexible Membership Plans

Memberships are available at the 3+ speaker level and the 5+ speaker level. If you hold tickets for Henry Winkler and/or Brian Skerry, those count toward your total number of speakers. Should the overall situation fluctuate, or if your personal comfort level changes, we are committed to providing you with a wide range of exchange and refund options.


Zoned General Admission Seating

Because seating capacities are likely to change over the coming months, all tickets sold for Speaker Series events will be general admission by zone: two zones on the main floor plus one zone in the balcony. You will purchase the zone of your choosing. By not assigning seats at the time of purchase, we have the flexibility to seat everyone based on health and safety guidelines in place on the day of the event with the least disruption to you.


Live Stream Viewing Options

Alternative ticket options include live stream viewing in Grand Upton Hall and live stream viewing from home. These options provide you with the type of event attendance you feel most comfortable with. In-person and live stream speaker ticket type purchases can be combined to create your 3+ and 5+ membership package. 


Do you have a suggestion for a future speaker?  Click here to submit your suggestion.


Current Series Past Speakers Membership Information

Upcoming Speakers

Past Speakers


Herbert E. Neil, Walter D. Frackler, Daniel Ford, Dr. Joel Ross

Hon. Coleman Young, Leonard Silk, Salim B. (Sandy) Lewis, R. Adm. (Ret) Gene La Rocque

Wayne W. “Woody” Hayes, David N. Dremen, Terry Savage, Hon. Charles E. Wiggins, Joan Claybrook

William E. Colby, Frank Vogl, William H. Sullivan

Earl R. Butz, Walter Fackler, Margaret “Midge” Constanza, Richard D. Morrow, Emmett Dedmon

Robert G. Dederick, Joseph N. Sorrentino, Dr. James S. Coleman, James L. Browning Jr.

Dr. John H. Knowles M.D., Hon. L.L.W. Sebe, John Burns

Herbert Neil, W. Michael Blumenthal, Hon. Reginald Maulding, Abe Raskin, Mme. Nila Magidott

Jerald F. terHorst, Dr. John T. Manning M.D., Gov. Tom McCall, Lewis A. Engman, Adm. Elmo R. Zumwalt

William Turner, Herbert Stein, Henry E. Peterson, Myron E. Cherry, William D. Ruckelshaus

Sen. Fred Harris, Prof. Arthur Miller, J. Robert Schaetzel, William Davis, Jack Anderson, Sir Con O’Neill

Lynn A. Townsend, Roger Hilsman, Elisha Gray II, Robert Meserve, George Reedy

Betty Furness, Ian L. McHarg, Donald Lauria, James B. Reston

Justice Thos. F. Brennan, Wm. H. Stoneman, Sen. Robert P. Griffin, Robert Enstad/ Jerold Israel, Sen. Dan. K. Inouye

Sen. Jack Miller, Sen. Wm. Proxmire, James J. Kilpartrick, Lewis D. Gilbert, Ralph Nader

Robert Karr McCabe, Lord Harlech, Margaret Mead, Carl Gerstacker, Paul-Henri Spaak

Sen. Albert Gore, Leonard Woodcock, Drew Pearson, Dr. Paul W. McCracken, Robert Price

Bayard E. Sawyer, Hanson Baldwin, Bill Veeck, Arthur M. Schlesinger, Hon. Albert H. Quie

Sen. George McGovern, Sen. Frank Carlson, Dr. Yale Brozen, Malcolm Muggeridge, Hon. Kenneth T. Young, Jr., Judge George N. Leighton

Rt. Hon. Sir Hugh Foot, Peter R. Nehemkis, Jr., Martin S. Ochs, George J. Sigler, Walter E. Schirmer, Issac Don Levine, John J. Flaharty

Dr. Dexter M. Keezer, Arthur M. “Red” Motley, Harrison Salisbury, Dr. David A. Stoddard

Joseph McD. Mitchell, Sen. Mike Mansfield, Dr. Robert A. Strusz-Hupe, Dr. Edward R. Annis, Nate R. White, Walter J. McNerney

Charles H. Perc, Sen. Eugene J. McCarthy, Amb. Carlos Santamria, F.T. Aschman, Ellis B. Merry, Bishop James A. Pike

W. Allen Wallis, Richard Kasischke, Lyman C. Conger, John Crosby, James Reston, Louis O. Keslo, Mortimer Smith

Rt. Hon. Anthony Nutting, Stuart Chase, Lemuel Boulware, Sen. Hubert Humphrey, Gen. Sir John B. Glubb, Robert E. Pickup, Hon. D. Hale Boggs, Sen. Carl T. Curtis

Louis W. Prentiss, Arthur G. Clarke, Arthur E. Bestor, Hon. Frank G. Clement, Vance Packard

Rt. Hon. Herbert Morrison, Hon. Christian Herter, Prof. L.L. Waters, Hon. J. Ernest Wilkins, Hon. Emanuel Celler, James Reston, Hon. Antoni N. Sadiak

David B. Steinman, Gen. Carlo P. Romulo, Gerald Piel, Arthur Bliss Lane, Gaganvihari L. Mehta, Dr. Marcus Bach, Alistair Cooke

Dr. Will Durant, Hon. Douglas McKay, Gen. Claude H. Dewhurst O.B.E., Gardner Cowles, Elliot Janeway

Eddy Gilmore, Charles R. Sligh, Philip Graham, Dr. Marcus Bach, Eleanor Roosevelt, T. Coleman Andrews, Charles Sawyer, John A. Hannah

Paul A. Hoffman, Hon. Nicholas Nyaradi, Dr. Melchior Palyi, Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, Dr. Jan Herman Van Roijen, Prof. William A. Paton

William T. Faricy, Sen. Blair Moody, Sumner T. Pike, Isaiah Leo Shartman, Dr. Norman Vincent Peale

Walter T. Tuohy, R. Adm Ellis M. Zachanas, Denis A. Greenhill, Dorothy Thompson

Dr. Ernest E. Irons, Dr. Hobert E. Wilson, Clinton S. Golden, Allen B. Kline, Angus Ward, Eugene C. Pullman, Wallace F. Bennett

Dr. Melchior Palyi, Earl Bunting, William A. Patterson, H.D. (Fritz) Crisier, Dr. George S. Benson

Paul A. Hoffman, James S. Knolson, Dr. Charles E. McAllister, Dr. Herold C. Hunt, George Weller, Dr. Ralph W. Sockman

Sen. Paul Douglas, Hon. Walter H. Judd, William R. Scheider, Donald K. David, Joseph M. Dodge

Robert Heller, Walter Trohan, Dr. Leo Wolman, Dr. Reuben G. Gustafson, Louis Bromfield, Philip D. Reed

Robert J. Watt, Raymond Moley, Gen. Robert E. Wood, Dr. Alexander G. Ruthven

Paul A. Hoffman, Dr. Gerald Wendt, Dr. Leo Wolman, Dr. Margaret Mead, Dr. Victor G. Heiser, Eric A. Johnson

Join our mailing list

Box Office
Call (269) 927-8700

for more information

The Mendel Center
1100 Yore Avenue
Benton Harbor, MI 49022

Lake Michigan College
LMC Visual and Performing Arts
Privacy Statement